By Massad Ayoob,
It’s human nature, I suppose. Someone finds the right automobile/political party/firearm for himself, invests his ego in the choice, and then decides to tell you what’s right for him is obviously right for you.
Internet, where one recurring meme seems to be, “If you carry more firepower than me you’re paranoid mall ninjas, and if you carry less than me, you’re pathetic sheeple.” With husbands and wives, the 6-foot male of the household says “Honey, I’ve found the best gun to carry, so here’s one just like mine, all for you!” And he gives a petite woman something too big for her hand, or her whole body, or her wardrobe. Ideal outcomes rarely ensue.
Disarming the Myths Promoted By the Gun Control Lobby
Larry Bell, Contributor
As much as gun control advocates might wish otherwise, their attacks are running out of ammo. With private firearm ownership at an all-time high and violent crime rates plunging, none of the scary scenarios they advanced have materialized. Abuse of responsibility by armed citizens is rare, while successful defensive interventions against assaults on their lives and property are relatively commonplace.
First of all,no instructors will be able to teach an official Illinois CCW class until their curriculum has been approved. We highly recommend you ask for the instructor’s credentials from the ISP before taking their class. It is expected that the state will not issue the first CCW permit until April 2014. Keep in mind this is information we have compiled from our resources and this could change at any time given the state we live in.
Here's a condensed rundown of House Bill 183:
Statewide “shall-issue” licensing standard
No requirement to show a “proper reason” or prove “good moral character”
No special endorsement or permit required to carry in Chicago or Cook County.
Illinois Concealed Carry Classes
Now that the Illinois Concealed Carry law has been passed, we know that 16 hours of training will be required. If you are an honorably discharged veteran, you will be credited 8 hours, leaving you in need of the “second” 8 hours of training from an Illinois Concealed Carry Class. This “second 8 hour” class is not available anywhere in Illinois yet, as we are awaiting approval from the State Police.
Although the State Police has 60 days to approve instructors and curriculum, our understanding is that they have already indicated that:
State Police Answer FAQ Concerning Illinois Conceal Carry
How will ISP officers and local law enforcement respond to citizens who are carrying weapons after July 9th?
The Illinois State Police will continue to enforce the law in effect after July 9, 2013. Assuming the law is either the version passed by the General Assembly or that amended by the Governor; citizens cannot lawfully carry concealed weapons without a valid Concealed Carry License. Citizens who carry loaded firearms without a Conceal Carry License issued by the Illinois State Police are subject to arrest. All citizens seeking to obtain a Concealed Carry License must have a valid FOID card.
Convergence: Why your zero is only correct at two distances
by Dick Jones
HIGH POINT —
It’s a common misconception that once a bullet leaves the muzzle of a gun, it rises. When I was a young man I simply couldn’t understand what forces of nature caused this phenomenon to occur, yet the photos in the books always showed the bullet rising up above the line of sight when the parabolic curve of a bullet’s trajectory was illustrated.